What are PDUs?

Professional Development Units (PDUs) are one-hour blocks of time that you spend learning, teaching others, or volunteering. By accumulating and tracking these over a three-year period you can maintain your certification status with PMI.

Our certifications have different requirements for number of PDUs for maintenance. However, all have a three-year renewal cycle.

PDUs are broken into two categories — Education and Giving Back to the Profession.

  • Education PDUs can be earned at professional seminars, webinars, classes, or even self-directed learning.
  • Giving Back PDUs are for time spent volunteering, mentoring, working with professional groups, and more.

PMI Talent Triangle®

Our research shows employers want project managers with an equal balance of technical, leadership and strategic and business management skills — the PMI Talent Triangle®.

That’s why you are required to log equal hours in these topic areas to maintain your certification. It is how we ensure your certification remains relevant in today’s changing marketplace and continues to give you a competitive edge.

Get ready to learn

If you haven’t already, get up to date on the PDU requirements for your certification. Then, check out the wide variety of ways you can earn PDUs. Want some advice on planning your development to the Talent Triangle? Or maybe you’ve already earned PDUs and need to get them logged into the Continuing Certification Requirements System.

Have the CAPM®?

Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® certification holders are now required to earn professional development units (PDUs) to maintain their certification every three years. Find out how many PDUs are needed.

Report PDUs

Visit our online Continuing Certification Renewal System (CCRS) to report PDUs and view your certification records.



Have questions?

Check out Frequently Asked Questions for more information about maintaining your certification.

Get the details

Download the CCR Handbook . It gives you all the details on CCR, PDUs, how they apply to each certification and how to log them in our system.