How to Apply?

The certification process is as follows:

1) Meet Eligibility Norms

To apply for a PMI Certification, it is mandatory to meet domain experience levels, educational levels or both. The applicant is required to provide details of his/her work experience and/or education.

Each certification has been distinctly groomed, hence it is best to refer the handbook for the concerned certification to probe its unique eligibility criteria.

2) Online Application

Once you conform to the eligibility norms, you can apply for the certification of your interest. Compile the following—personal, educational and professional—information and use our online certification system to complete the application process.

Data required:

  • Contact information - Email ID, residential address, phone no.
  • Education - Information of School to the highest degree achieved, degree dates
  • Domain experience - Projects, programs, portfolios worked on, including qualifying hours, dates of employment, role and organization details, reference, and experience summary
  • Domain education - Courses completed, Institution details, Dates, Qualifying hours

  • Pro-tip:

    • Once you open the application, it will stay active for a period of 90days.
    • Make sure you consolidate all the information and documents before hand to speed up your application.

    3) Evaluating the application

    After receiving the application, PMI will verify if you meet the eligibility norms and the validity of your domain experience and educational information as per the guidelines states in the certification handbook.

    The application review takes about 5 to 10 days, depending on the certification. Once done, our email will guide you to the next step. Any queries or issues regarding your application will be addressed via email.

    For auditing applicants, a certain percentage of applications will be evaluated. To enhance the credibility of the certification programme and the certification holders, a thorough audit is conducted wherein, the claimed experience and education documents are verified.

    For Program Management Professional (PgMP)® and Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP)® applicants, the applications will go through an additional step of panel review. A panel of PMI certification holders will assess your domain experience to reassure your qualification.


    • Read Frequently asked Questions regarding the audit procedure.

    4) Remittance for Test

    Once the application is approved, you will be notified about the payment process. Using PMI’s online certification system you can pay in the fastest way.

    After the payment is received, an eligibility number will be emailed to you. This eligibility number will help you schedule your test appointment as a part of the next stage.


    • The eligibility number is valid for a period of one year and during this year three attempts are permitted.

    5) Appointment for Test

    Except for CAPM, tests for all other certifications can be attempted on Prometric’s worldwide testing sites. Register and schedule an appointment for your test on employing your eligibility number.

    For the CAPM, you can schedule your exam on a testing site or enroll for an online-invigilated exam through Pearson VUE by logging on to your MyPMI account and following the lead.

    The test will decide you final eligibility for the certification of your choice.


    • Go through the certification handbook and the exam content outline to know about the exam format and topics that need to be covered.
    • Update yourself with books and articles about your domain and interested certification.
    • Enroll in an exam prep course to study thoroughly.
    • Forming a group circle with colleagues or friend helps in exchange of ideas and knowledge.

Ready to Apply?

Register and log in to get started.